Malawi 2009

For those of you who haven’t heard, Crisha and I will be going to Malawi this summer.  We will be gone about a month, leaving Saturday, June 13th and returning Sunday, July 12th.

I got my four vacinations this past Monday after work.  It laid me out for two days.  So, Crisha tactfully decided to get her shots today, on a Friday.

Here’s some quick ‘n dirty details:

  • We will have an 8 hour lay over in Zurich, Switzerland, both ways.  I’m told we do not need a visa to leave the airport.  So, we hope to venture out a little and find an eatery of some sort.
  • We will have an over night lay over in Johannesburg, South Africa, on the way back.  We might check out their zoo.
  • We will go on a 4 day safari in Zambia, which I’m told is the 2nd best area in Africa for safaris.
  • We will be staying with Crisha’s friend, Lisa, who teaches at ABC Christian Academy.
  • We plan to hike Mt. Mulanje, Malawi’s tallest mountain.

More info to come, but I have to go.  Please, ask questions.  I’d love to keep the blog updated about this trip, but I’ve been lazy about it lately.  So, please engage me!

    Tags: , ,

    3 Responses to “Malawi 2009”

    1. Steve Says:

      It sounds like the trip of a lifetime. Long layover in Switzerland is a neat opportunity.

      What kind of ministry will you be doing there… with the school?

      And what animals are you supposed to see on that safari?

    2. Dan Says:

      Just tuning in, finally added the new RSS feeds so I can get all the latest news. 🙂
      Don’t pet the lions, they are hungry!

    3. Mark Hensler Says:

      I know Lisa wants us to visit the orphanage once or twice a week, but other than that, I’m not sure of what ministry opportunities she has in plan for us.

      I don’t know what animals to expect. I haven’t researched it. But, I’m sure I’ll be happy with whatever animal graces us whit their presence.

      Gee, thanks Steve. Now, I feel rather uninformed about my own trip! =P

    Leave a Reply

