New dev box

In my “You bunt, too!” post on Aug 21st, I mentioned that the Desktop version of Ubuntu didn’t have any options to load apache, mysql and php (among other things). Happily, I was able to load those quick enough. And I just finished getting a copy of Subversion and Trac installed onto my Ubuntu laptop. Which means that I now have a portable development machine. I’m pretty excited. But I’m not promising that I’ll spend much time developing stuff.

What prompted all of this, is that I was wanting to play with PHP 5, but my host wasn’t running it.  Now, after going through all of this work to build a dev box, I’ve received an email from my host stating that all servers will be upgraded to run PHP 5 later this month.  Lovely!

But I’m still happy with my Ubuntu experience, and will continue to play with it.

Leave a Reply

