Why do we fall?

I watched Batman & Robin tonight. You know how it is… it was on TV and I wasn’t doing anything else. I don’t think I’ve seen it before. Fun, but I much prefer the new Batman Begins movie! And BTW, the details on the sequel are out! It’s called The Dark Knight.

But anywho, that’s not why I’m blogging. Recently, I took a crash course in railroad crossing (blogged here). I’ve had a few emails and phone calls and whatnot. So, I thought I’d give you all an update.

My shoulder is feeling much better. I self-medicated for a couple days, and for the most part, it doesn’t bother me anymore. Sometimes I feel a pain when sticking my arm into sleeves and bending my arm into unusual shapes. But it is healing very nicely.

In fact, just today I went biking. No, wait. I went after the Batman movie, which ended at 10PM. So, technically, I went biking tonight. Err… last night. Well, here’s how it went down. Movie ended at 10PM. My adrenaline is pumping because — well, c’mon… I was watching Batman. So, I grabbed my gear, jumped on my bike, and headed for Dan’s house.

I flew down Briarwood going 37mph at 10:30 at night (fun!). Then made a quick stop at church to take a gander at the skate park. I, uh… had an accident and fell off my bike — with Sean, Nick and April watching. After the laughs and dusting myself off, I jumped back on the bike and continued my ride to Dan’s house.

Around Bonita Rd and then up Otay Lakes Rd. A few hundred yards from my turn, something flew past me. Yes, some punks in a car threw something at me. Gah! Up and around. Over and through… to Daniel’s house I went.

I arrived. Saw his car was gone. Took a swig of water. And turned around.

Up and around. Over and through… back to church I went.

I got back to church around midnight. Talked with some peeps for a while. Then ended up staying for the first half of The Untouchables. It was quite an amazing movie, but it was now past 1:30 and I really needed to get home.

Back around Sweetwater and up Briarwood Rd. I had sat nearly still for an hour and a half watching a silly movie, and now I’m climbing Briarwood Road on a bike? I don’t know what I was thinking.

I was able to make the entire trip from church to home without stopping… I guess that’s what’s nice about biking near 2 AM: there’s no traffic.

Anyway… lesson learned:
“Why do we fall?”
“So we can learn to pick ourselves up.”

Leave a Reply

