Railroad Crossing: A Crash Course

I decided to go for a bike ride after work today. So, I decided to bike to Seaport Village and back. No biggy. I’ve done it a few times before.

I set out shortly after 4:30, and biked down Paradise Valley Rd, across 8th St and all the way up Harbor Dr. I took a quick detour down 5th St to Horton Plaza, then hooked around to Seaport Village. Back down Harbor Drive, and right around mile 16, I had to cross another set of railroad tracks.

When crossing railroad tracks, it’s important to remember one thing: cross perpendicular. If your familiar with my route, you’ll understand when I say that this should have become habit. I have to cross several tracks going each way on this route, and this was the last set of tracks to cross on the way back. Unfortunately, I was paying more attention to the car breaking in front of me than watching the angle I crossed the tracks.

My front tire hit the rail and took a sharp right turn. My tire sunk into the groove that parallels the rail and my bike began to fall to the left. I couldn’t throw my foot out, as I was biking with shoes that lock into the pedals. So, I found my left arm flying out instead. My palm hit the floor, then my butt. I remember thinking, “Oh, no! My new iPod!” Then my elbow hit the ground and, immediately, I felt a pain in my shoulder.

I don’t know how fast I was going on my bike, but I came to an abrupt stop once I hit the floor. Of course, now that I’m sprawled out on the asphalt, my feet snapped out of the pedals. I rolled onto my back and looked over my shoulder for oncoming traffic. No rush. Time for damage assessment.

“Can we move?”
“Well, yes — we rolled onto our back, dummy.”
“Ok, can we get out of the street?”
“I don’t know, let’s try.”

I climbed onto my feet and grabbed for my iPod with my left hand. Ouch! It felt like someone stabbed my shoulder, but I did find my iPod still clipped to my belt — I knew all would be well. I then grabbed my bike with my right hand and walked it to the side of the street.

“Can we go on?”

I walked around and tried moving my shoulder around a little. It hurt quite a bit, but didn’t seem as bad as the time I dislocated my right shoulder. I decided to press on and see how far I could ride. I got back on the bike and made my way down to Sweetwater Rd. Two miles later, I knew I couldn’t make it home. I had biked most of the way with my left arm in my lap. I stopped and called for a pickup.

18.583 miles
1 hour, 20 minutes
1 jacked up left shoulder

When I got home, I took a prescription strength Naproxen and put ice on my shoulder for an hour.   My shoulder’s cool now (pun!), but I’m a little worried about what it’ll fee like in the morning.

2 Responses to “Railroad Crossing: A Crash Course”

  1. Sudi Says:

    I’m sorry to hear all this. ARe you okay!????

  2. Dan Says:

    Ouchy! How is it now?
    I didn’t see this post until today because for some reason my RSS feed didn’t load.

Leave a Reply

