Man Down!

About a week ago, I noticed that I couldn’t SSH into my home IP.  Today, I noticed that I couldn’t SSH into my linux server across the LAN.  I tried to troubleshoot, but ultimately, I was unable to get a monitor or keyboard to work and neither network card responded to pings.  My linux server has died.

Man down!

8 Responses to “Man Down!”

  1. Dan Says:

    HA!

    I mean, have you tried turning it off and on again?

    My Linux box uptime:

    [root@gtserver2 root]# uptime
    00:45:29 up 374 days, 11:06, 1 user, load average: 0.00, 0.04, 0.01

  2. Mark Says:

    My uptime would have been around 15 months. 😥

    Yes, I tried cycling power, still unable to get a picture or NumLock/CapsLock to respond.

    I’m a little scared… I have data I need to get off that disk!

  3. Dave Says:

    Are you sure it’s plugged in?

    (haa haa haa I hear Dan saying now!)

    Check the capacitors on the motherboard to see if they’ve oozed their gunk, if their ok, trying another PSU and re-seating all hardware inside would be a good thing to try.

  4. Gliebster Says:

    Give it a good strong whack? 😉

    That’s a trick I learned from Dan years ago.

  5. Dan Says:

    Well that trick works best on MAC’s but it’s worth a try. LOL

  6. Mark Says:

    All joking aside. I will likely be replacing the linux server with a Mac. I’ve been looking at Mac Mini’s.

    I don’t want to spend the time building/installing/configuring/administrating another linux box.

  7. Dan Says:

    Uh, so what exactly do you want it to do? How will it be any different from a Linux box. You know you’re just going to install all the same services, database, etc. And when it comes time to upgrade, throw it away and buy a new one. 🙂

  8. Mark Says:

    OS X is basically Unix. So, I will still be able to SSH in from anywhere, and mount the shares on any machine on my network. Doesn’t sound like much, but I do it often enough that I get frustrated when I can’t access my network from work/church.

    I’ve also used my server to perform scheduled remote backups of other sites I have access to.

    And I’ve used it to batch rename HUGE amounts of photos with filename conflicts (shooting an event with 2 or more cameras can have this problem). I wrote a shell script to do this… something windows cannot do.

Leave a Reply

