PLNU vs NASSCO

Today, I’ve worked at PLNU as long as I did at NASSCO: 17 months and 9 days. And, I’ve decided to reflect on things.

I’m happy to report that:

  • While at PLNU, I have not fallen through any holes in the floor, nor have I burnt any of my clothes.
  • I don’t get the cardio workout I did at NASSCO, but I don’t get heat exhaustion either.
  • The view from my Mission Valley office isn’t as scenic as the view from the weather decks, but I don’t have to don a hard-hat everywhere I go.
  • The office air-conditioner may break every once in a while, but there are no gas leaks and I have no need for a respirator.
  • I no longer get off because of rain, but I didn’t get paid for those days, either.
  • I don’t have to explain to people what a “university” is, like I did for “shipyard”.
  • I carry around a laptop and business cards, rather than heavy tool bags and blueprints.
  • And I no longer use tools that can hurt me.
  • My boss wears a tie, not a gold hat.
One Response to “PLNU vs NASSCO”

  1. Sudi Says:

    What a blessing!

Leave a Reply

