Results

I just got back from the doctor’s. I got to see the MRI, and he went over it with me. My meniscus are perfectly fine, as are my ACL, PCL and other junk. But I’m missing a small piece (less than .5 cm across) of cartilage on my femur, towards the top in the patellar groove. And I’m missing a nice size piece of cartilage on my patella (I didn’t quite see what he was trying to point out on the patella, but I think it was towards the top half.). So, when I extend my leg and the patella slides up, these two spots “kiss” each other.

He also discussed 3 surgical proceedures that are currently being done on knees. First is a cartilage transplant, where he would take pieces of cartilage from other places in my knee and “tile” them in the bad spot. Second is a cadaver transplant, where they would cut out a square section of my cartilage and a layer of bone and swap it with a piece from a cadaver. Third is some funky thing where they take a piece of my cartilage, put it in a petry dish to grow more cartilage, then stick it in the bad spots. The third option is very new, still experimental, not covered by Kaiser and costs $25,000 per opperation.

Doc says I should take suppliments 3 times a day and cycle or swim 3 to 4 times a week for 30 minutes. I’ll go back in for another follow-up in 4-6 weeks. If things don’t progress we may at that point consider opperating.

3 Responses to “Results”

  1. Dan Says:

    Hmm, interesting. Some options are opening up. The cadaver option sounds creepy. Does this mean you’re going to install a pool in your backyard? šŸ™‚

    No pictures of the MRI? šŸ˜¦ You should always bring your digital camera with you to doctors visits.

  2. Mark Says:

    The only camera I have is the huge digital SLR. And I don’t want to look like a huge dork, toting around an SLR.

  3. Dan Says:

    Bah. There’s always borrowing your dad’s or Dave’s smaller cameras. Plus I don’t think you’d look like a dork at all! More like nerd. And there’s nothing wrong with bein’ “White & Nerdy” šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

