Technical Recruiter from Google?

I received an email from someone @google.com, which was titled, “Google Found Your Posts on Webmaster Forums and Hiring”. The email reads….

Hi Mark,

My name is Kumi Bailey and I am a Recruiter for the Google.com (SRE) at Google. This is the most dynamic, challenging and fun group at Google. The Google.com group is responsible for our Google website from start to finish.

I found your posts on The Webmaster Forums and am impressed by your knowledge. I wanted to ping you to see if you may be interested in opportunities at Google. We are constantly seeking extraordinary developers and UNIX (Linux) experts to join our exciting team and growing organization. We have positions open in the USA in Mountain View (CA), Santa Monica (CA), New York (NY), and Kirkland (WA) as well as Dublin (Ireland) and Zurich (Switzerland); and we could relocate you to any of these locations of your choice.

If you have experience as a unix/linux system administrator or software developer or have excellent skills in scripting (in python, php, perl, or shell), programming (C or Java), and networking, then please send me an email so we can schedule a time for me to call you to speak with you to discuss more details. I hope you are not bothered by my networking attempt. If you are not interested or available, but would like to forward my name and contact information to your friends or colleagues, I would be most delighted.

Thanks and hope to hear from you soon.

Kumi Bailey
Technical Recruiter

Then… I found a message in my Facebook from the same lady!

I’m a recruiter at Google and just wanted to give you a heads up on an email that I recently sent you (mark@maxalbert.com) regarding career opportunities.

Let me know if you are interested!

Cheers!

Kumi

Now, I don’t imagin Google would recruite in this fashion. But being in the Google network on Facebook (which requires email verification from a ‘google.com’ email) and having listed phone numbers within Google’s block (650-253-0000), I’m still left wondering about the validity. So, I replied:

Hi Kumi-

I received your Facebook message.

I would be interested in working for Google, but I’m having my doubts about the legitimacy of this recruitment. I don’t imagine Google recruiting in this fashion.

-Mark

7 Responses to “Technical Recruiter from Google?”

  1. Bane Says:

    I know Amazon has in the past so I’m not sure why Google wouldn’t other than that they likely have a deluge of applicants.

  2. Mark Says:

    And her reply…

    Hi Mark,

    Thank you for responding to my email. I understand your concern about the legitimacy of this recruitment; however, I assure you that I am really a Google Recruiter.

    Google actively recruits across the web in a myriad of ways, including scouting out active participants on Forums such as Webmaster and college alumni on social networks such as Facebook.

    Google has found that many of its best engineers are those who did not actively apply to join Google, but who were actually scouted out and invited by recruiters like myself.

    That being said, I hope you are reassured that this is a real proposition. I am glad to hear that you are interested in joining Google, and would like to speak with you more about the details. Please call me at my office or on my cell or shoot me an email with a day and time that you would be free for a short phone interview.

    I look forward to hearing from you soon.

    Best Regards,
    Kumi Bailey

  3. Steve Says:

    Wow, I did a quick search and didn’t find anything about scams working like this. I did find a person writing about MS sending him email like this and it turned out to be legit. You have nothing to lose as long as you don’t give them $$$. 😉 Give ’em a call.

  4. Sudi Says:

    Congratulations! How exciting!
    Pay It Forward-Put a good word in for your cousin Dan 🙂

  5. Mark Says:

    I have decided to pass on the interviews. While I would indeed enjoy working for Google, I don’t think I am ready to leave my current career path. And I’m not too thrilled with the idea of relocating right now.

  6. Sudi Says:

    Did you tell them about Dan?

  7. Budi Rahardjo Says:

    Mine (a job offer from Google, through email) is real! So, it is not a scam.

Leave a Reply

