Get the picture?

I just finished the MRI (at HowStuffWorks.com). It took about 40 minutes to complete. It’s a series of pictures which range from 1 to 8 minutes in durration.

I believe the tech said the machine cost about $2.5 million, plust $250,000 annually for servicing. But then he said the room itself is about $1.5 million dollars. And that’s because the room is actually a Faraday Cage. And the purpose is not to keep radio waves out, but to keep the radio waves in.

I found out that the machine blasts AM radio frequencies (AM 63.5 to be precise; 1.5 Tesla) using three 50,000 watt amps. I asked the tech how that compairs to a radio tower and he said they’re about the same. He also said that the question your weight on the paperwork is important, so they know how powerfull to set the MRI… as they don’t want to cook you. 😉

2 Responses to “Get the picture?”

  1. Dan Says:

    Did you hear music on your fillings? LOL

    Also you told us everything about the machine and nothing of the results.

  2. Mark Says:

    My doc gets the results in a week… so I don’t know what’s up yet. I’ve been a little worried about it the last few days, as my knee has been feeling pretty good. I’m hoping they still find something.

Leave a Reply

