Arizona?

September 2-4, I went on a road trip to Arizona. You’re probably expecting me to write about my trip, but I’m not going to. Rather, I’m going to explain my motives for the trip.

I didn’t go to Arizona to relax. I didn’t go to Arizona for a vacation. I didn’t even go to Arizona so I’d have a story to tell when I got back (but I do, so hah).

I went to Arizona, so that I could cross it off my list of goals. I went to Arizona because I had a three day weekend and it was in driving distance. I went to Arizona because, after spending all of Saturday morning at Discount Tire, I decided New Mexico was a bit too far.

When did I decide all this? On the way home from work Friday, I was listening to Smash Mouth‘s song, All Star, which says:

Somebody once asked could I spare some change for gas
I need to get myself away from this place
I said yep what a concept
I could use a little fuel myself
And we could all use a little change

Immediately, I wanted to “get myself away from this place.” And with a three day weekend just starting, what more perfect an opportunity?

I saw some of Arizona and the Colorado River, and I learnd a little bit more about myself. I had a lot of fun, and I’m eager to travel some more.

Next holiday: Thanksgiving weekend. And I’m already thinking about flying somewhere. šŸ˜‰

2 Responses to “Arizona?”

  1. Dan Says:

    You left out the part where you brought me along for the trip. šŸ™‚

    That was a fun trip. I think you should go to places not only to simply cross them off a list but to chronicle your journeys, take some pictures for postarity, and share the experience with others.

    That said, why don’t you blog a bit about what happened and post a few pictures? Don’t let my bloggings detract from you telling the world your point of view on the experience.

    I’d like to go on other trips as well in the future. If you’ll have me along that is. šŸ™‚ Just a little more than 2 hours notice next time please. haha. I think I’d be more open to trying more stuff too and not shying away so much like with the ‘not at least looking into renting jet ski’s’ thing.

  2. Dan Says:

    Oh ya, and in case Mark doesn’t blog further on the subject and you are curious about what happened on this trip, visit my blog at http://blog.gliebetronics.com and type in Arizona into the search.

Leave a Reply

