New Toy!

XV6700I just bought the XV6700 from Verizon. It’s a SmartPhone, which means a basic PDA with cellular capabilities. It runs Windows Mobile 5 and has Bluetooth and WiFi.

What prompted this purchase? Well, I’ve been looking at MP3 players. And I really needed a day planner. And my cell phone is all banged up. So I got an all-in-one. 🙂

6 Responses to “New Toy!”

  1. Gliebster Says:

    Cool! How useful are the web browsing capabilities? I’ve always wondered about that on smartphones and PDAs.

  2. Mark Says:

    I was up to midnight last night playing with it… I didn’t mean to stay up that late. Time just flew by.

    So far, I’ve tried Google, Gmail and Movietickets.com. They all have special WAP versions of their websites. I’ve not tried writing an email, but I have read one.

    I am sooo looking forward to setting up the ActiveSync with Outlook 2003. I can add contacts and calendar events on my desktop and sync it to my phone… then I’ll always have my schedule on me. And I can add numbers to my phone, and sync it to my desktop.

    I always thought my old phone was cool because it would store 3 phone numbers for any given contact (home/cell/office)… this phone stores a whole heck of a lot more… 3 emails, 3 IM, multiple phones, address, etc, etc.. it looks like a whole Outlook profile!

    Oh.. I’m porting my old phone number as well.

  3. Gliebster Says:

    I think it’s pretty darn cool that you can VNC from Windows Mobile to your home PC, don’t you?

  4. Mark Says:

    I’ve yet to try the Terminal Services Client…. I’m almost scared to see how it looks. The screen is only 240×320… is it gonna give me scroll bars, alter the remote desktop res, or scale it down?

  5. Dan Says:

    Generally it should not scale the image down which would make it too pixely. It’ll be like setting your desktop to the rez of your native screen. sorta.

  6. galikanokus Says:

    ok bets on how long it will take to ruin the new phone? i say under the month it will look nothing like it should. srry mark i feel so…. so… huh… whats this feeling in me….. drugged? is that it? wow i must be high and feeling good 🙂 but we all know when you get in a fight with the phone, you will be sprawled on the ground and it will be unscathed

Leave a Reply

