Stuttering Stanley

So I was in class Thursday… and we broke into small groups for the last 20 minutes, like we do every class.  Only this time, with 5 minutes left, the instructor says, “Now, I want you to stop wherever you are.  Find the oldest person in your group, because they’ve had the longest to think about this.  And I want them to share with the class something about finding your spiritual passion.”  Not only was I the oldest in my group, but my group was to go first…

Alright, here I go.  I began speaking and almost immediately my heard rate trippled.  I could feel my face turning red… my lips quivering and palms sweating.  Now as I’m talking, I’m scanning the room to see who’s going next, thinking, “Please, feel free to interject at any time!”

Speaking in front of people is not something I’m comfortable with.  While I was speaking, I was probably thinking more about how red my face was than what exactly I was saying.  It was such a hard thing to do.

2 Responses to “Stuttering Stanley”

  1. Sudi Says:

    I’m so sorry to hear that.
    I understand how you must’ve felt.
    The good thing is that nobody noticed,
    because they were all thinking about they own self consciousness.
    If that is any comfort-
    SG

  2. Lindsey Belleau Says:

    Awwwwww. I’m sure it wasn’t that bad!
    Ok, maybe to you it was. I am so sorry.
    Yeah, I may be outgoing but my voice
    shakes to speak in front of people. I’m
    sure it was difficult but yay!, you are still
    alive. It will be a breeze next time!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

