It starts…

“It starts. You think you know a guy..” (from Timon, in Lion King)

So, I had my first class today. It was cool. Get this, my instructor is the father of the dean of my department. Literally. He’s my boss’s boss’s boss’s father. Kinda nifty, eh?

If you know me, you know I don’t like reading. Next to writing, it’s probably the least enjoyable part of learning. So how much of these two undesireables does this class have? Well, more than your typical CIS class, but I’m sure less than an english class. Did that answer your question?

There are three textbooks. If you can call them textbooks. More like required reading, as I don’t think they were written for a classroom setting. But then, I’ve yet to obtain copies….

  • Hansen, David. The Art of Pastoring: Ministry Without All The Answers. Downers Grove: Intervasity Press, 1994
  • Ortber, John. The Life You’ve Always Wanted. Grand Rapids: Zondervan, 1997
  • Tracy, Wesley D. (et als.). The Upward Call: Spiritual Formation and the Holy Life. Kansas City, MO: Beacon Hill Press of Kansas City, 1994

The weekly homework on the syllabus seems to be a chapter from Hansen, 20-50 pages of Tracy and a small section of scripture. Otberg is rather short lived with four 50 page sprints in the first 4 weeks. With an essay paper due every four weeks. Oh, and I’ve got to keep a spiritual/reflection journal for this class too. And I must “engage in 12 hours (minimum) of ministry service over the 16 weeks of the semester.”

Honestly, it seems a bit daunting to me. I’ve always hated school. I hate reading and struggle with writting. This class contains a full arsenal.

School is not a place I enjoyed in the past. And it’s not a place I was looking forward to returning to. But I feel drawn to ministry, and I don’t feel I can do so effectively without been properly educated and equiped to do so. I’ve been praying about this for a while, and the same God who took me out of the shipyard (hold the applause) has placed me at PLNU. A Christian working environment, where I can receive proper education to become equipped to enter the ministry in which I feel led to serve.

God has a perfect plan. And as I told some classmates in small group discussion, only after I learned to rely on Him and on His timing, did I see His plan work in my life. I can’t wait to see what’s next.

2 Responses to “It starts…”

  1. Gliebster Says:

    That’s great!

    If you’re passionate about what you’re learning then I think the aspects about school that you didn’t like in the past will quickly fade into the background. 🙂

  2. Sudi Says:

    “only after I learned to rely on Him and on His timing, did I see His plan work in my life”
    That’s a quote worth repeating~
    I agree with SG -you will so love what you learn that the rest won’t be an issue.

    You mean Norm Shoemaker right?
    He is a VERY nice and godly guy.

    I am so happy for you.
    God is directing you and it’s great to see.
    Go get’em!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

