First Installment

I’ve got the first installment up (get the pun? Ha!). My blog is moved over, upgraded and re-themed (like it?).  The rest (namely gallery) will come in time.

11 Responses to “First Installment”

  1. Bane Says:

    Looks quite spifftastic.

  2. Gliebster Says:

    Nice theme, nice random headers, WP 2.0 rocks… and so does the nifty live comment preview!

  3. Sudi Says:

    I like your new blog.
    Very nice!

  4. Sudi Says:

    Love the random shots at the top!
    Neat-O!

  5. Mark Says:

    The random header photos stuff is a customization to the theme I wrote. I like that I can change the background color of the site without having to borrow Dave’s PC to photoshop the color into all my header images (like the old theme).

    Actually, I see no point to the comment preview… without any formatting to the text, what’s the purpose?

  6. Dan Says:

    A. Looks good.

    B. I had no idea you did anything until Steve mentioned it in an e-mail… Since you changed the URL from blog.maxalbert.com to just maxalbert.com, my RSS feeds did not show any activity.

    C. Didn’t the old theme ALSO DO RANDOM PICTURES at the top? OY!

    D. I agree on the comment previews. UTTERLY useless. Posting previews are useful.

    I’m upgrading my blog to 2.0 now, here’s hoping it still works. It’s about time they made some REAL progress with WP.

  7. Mark Says:

    B: (If you haven’t already updated the links) Do they work now? I think it was yesterday, I added a ‘blog’ subdomain and an .htaccess file to redirect all requests from the subdomain the main domain.

    Though, RSS readers might not like redirects, huh? I might have to play with it a little more.

    C: Yes, I also customized the previous template to use random photos. Problem with that theme was that there was a little background/framing in every photo. So when there was a newer release of the same theme, and I upgraded it.. the background changed shades of gray, and I never updated my images. You could see he gray box around the image on most screens. Annoyed the heck outa me, but not quite enough that I would install Photoshop.

    E: I like WP2… but I agree, development is s-l-o-w. One plus to this version, is the API hooks. I’ve already written a plugin for it. But there aren’t enough hooks. I was going to write a collection of plugins to further customize themes (any theme), but the hooks I needed for the second plugin didn’t exist. I was going to submit a ‘feature request’ ticket in their trac install (sound familiar, Dan? hint, hint, Dave)… but annonymouse users can’t create tickets and people aren’t able to register right now.. yet another glitch in their custom forum software. Yack. I keep checking back every week or so. I’d really like to write some plugins, but I can’t without proper hooks. [/rant]

    F: Wow, that was long!

  8. Dan Says:

    I already fixed my RSS feed links.

    Them wordpress peeps need to make their site a little more usable. I can’t access the upgrade codex right now for some reason. It worked a while ago but now I get blank pages. Oh well. I got my blog and mom and dad’s blog upgraded too. The WPG2 plugins and Vslider themes still work so that’s good. For my parents I will still have them use the Gallery integration mainly because the WP 2.0 image stuff, however cool it is now, cannot resize the original image on the server. Clickable thumbnails are nice but NOT when they click to open a freaking 5MP digicam picture!

    The Only thing I need to figure out now is how to make the Gallery images sit side by side on the blog posts and not stack up like a totem pole. hmm.

  9. Dan Says:

    Now that one’s just scarry. LOL

  10. Gliebster Says:

    If HTML works on the comments now then the preview has a good purpose.

    See, I’m using HTML and I can tell I closed my tags properly before posting. 😉

  11. Gliebster Says:

    Hey, I like the roman numerals… even though they are utterly useless. Haha

Leave a Reply

