I’m not The Next Karate Kid?

Thursday night Sean, Jesse and I went to Jesse’s house to move some wood to the church for the bonfire we’ve got coming up (Aug 5). We started filling Sean’s truck with pallets and 2-by’s and whatnot, then started putting particle board on top. One of the sheets was too big to fit in the truck, so Jesse held it up and told me, “Punch!” Of couse, thinking I was The Next Karate Kid, I gave it my best karate punch.

Apparently, I’m not the next Karate Kid. The wood did not break and I was now in a bit of pain. I kinda shook it off and kept loading the wood. We drove back to the church and unloaded the wood. My knuckles were a little soar, but I figured I’d just have a bruise. I drove myself home around 9pm and felt a little pain in my wrist. When I got home I ate dinner and found I couldn’t hold my plate with my right hand. Ok, now something is wrong. I took 220mg of Naproxyn and went to bed at 9:30pm.

Around 11pm, I woke up to a throbbing wrist. I tried to roll over and go back to sleep, but that didn’t work. I got up at midnight, put ice on it and took another 220mg of Naproxyn. It wasn’t ’till 1-1:30am that I finally fell asleep. Only to get up at 4:30am to go to work.

Once at work I decided, “Uh, no. This ain’t gonna work.” So, I called my boss and told him I needed a vacation day. He said he’d do what he could, and I went home.

When I got home, I called Kaiser and scheduled an appointment for 11am. By the time I got to the doctors, the drugs must have finally kicked in. I wasn’t feeling the intense pain that had kept me up last night. A good thing, but my wrist was still hurting and I had limited range of motion. Doc said it wan’t broken, but badly sprained. Also said that the Naproxyn was the right thing to take. (Score one for me 🙂 ) And gave me a prescription for lots more Naproxyn (100 tablets @ 500mg).

I’m feeling pretty good this morning. I’m typing this post without my brace on (which has been on this whole time). So that a good thing. Though, it still hurts to stretch my wrist.

10 Responses to “I’m not The Next Karate Kid?”

  1. Dan Says:

    How thick was the wood? 2 inches? or 8 inches?

  2. Bane Says:

    *sigh* Mark, you break easy.

  3. Dan Says:

    Mark needs to drink more MILK!!!

  4. galikanokus Says:

    The wood was 1/4″ PARTICAL BOARD FOR CRYING OUT not 2 or 8 ‘ like you think dan…..hes jsut a weaking who can do anything right

  5. galikanokus Says:

    *lol weakling who canNOT do anything right

  6. Mark Says:

    Thanks for all the replies and emails. I’m doing much better. I have basically my full range of motion back. Still can’t push with full force on that wrist, but I will be going back to work Monday.

    3/4″ drive impact guns and 15″ cresent wrenches await… I just hope I don’t tweak my wrist.

  7. galikanokus Says:

    At least its not 1/4 inch partical board awating your destruction lol cuz you know it causes soooo much more pain than steel LOL

  8. Chris Says:

    I hope your wrist feels better. It has to be better before the bonfire. I’m working till 8 and the fire hasta be so big I can see it from my store…

  9. Dan Says:

    Shameless plug: http://blog.gliebetronics.com There lets see if I can get this many people to actually comment on my blog too. Or maybe I have to shock myself with 20,000 volts first? LOL

  10. wouldnt_you_like2know Says:

    hey mark,
    don’t punch anything!

Leave a Reply

