Google: Summer of Code

I forget how now, but sometime, somewhere and somehow, I came across Google’s Summer of Code program. They will actually be sponsoring students to work on Open Source projects over the summer. Way cool!

Looking at the list, I see a lot of projects that I’ve used myself. I hope they get a lot of participation.

7 Responses to “Google: Summer of Code”

  1. chad Says:

    dude, I have a question about web hosting services and what i should do to get my own professional looking website for my photos. and you and dan being my resident computer geeks, I humbly ask for advice.

  2. Dan Says:

    Well, Gallery is a really great program that runs on a Linux server. It makes a great photo gallery site. The hard part is finding some really cheap web hosting that wouls support running Gallery or perhaps already has it installed. Do you happen to have any good broadband Internet service now? If you did you could get a cheasy computer and run your own server for free.

  3. Dan Says:

    My Gallery: http://ip.gliebetronics.com:801/gallery
    Not much in there right now.

    Mark’s Gallery: http://gallery.maxalbert.com

  4. Mark Says:

    I think it depends on what you mean by “professional looking”. My bro has some stuff hosted on http://hensler.deviantart.com. I don’t use it, but I think it works great for him because they’re always developing new features and it has community (nice for exposure and feedback, etc).

    If you’re looking more to sell your photography skills, you may want something without the community.

    I’d only suggest running you’re own website if you have the time to learn and maintain the software. And I’d only suggest hosting from home if downtime isn’t an issue.

    And dude, we’re way overdue for a photo viewing of Semester at Sea!

  5. Dan Says:

    yes.. WE WANT PICTURES!

  6. Chad Says:

    I’m getting around to it.. i promise…

  7. Dan Says:

    Faster faster!

Leave a Reply

