CPR: Cell Phone Resuscitation

Split LipAfter church on Sunday, I went to a pot-luck. Good fun. Played some croquet, pool volleyball, xbox and whatnot. And, of course, at too much good food. After the pot-luck, when most everyone else had left, our church youth pastor came over with his wife and some friends from church. They had called earlier to say they wanted to start up a pool volleyball game in the evening. So, I stuck around.

So they all arrive and we start talking about something I can’t remember. For some reason, the youth pastor made a joking remark about not going into the pool. I replied that I would make sure he made it in… one way or the other. He challenged me that I couldn’t possibly force him into the pool.

“Oh contrare”, I replied, “I’m sure I can”.
“Well, you’d be going in too, you know.”
“I never said I wouldn’t be going in. I just said that I could get you into the pool.”

The conversation headed down another forgettable rabbit trail.

Five, perhaps ten minutes later, I was walking along the pool side. Why, I don’t know. I think I was looking for a ball or something. Next thing I know, Mark (our youth pastor) has me in a bear hug and he’s spining me towards the pool. Finding myself quite far off balance and on the edge of pool, I fell in. Almost immediately my left leg starts to vibrate. “[insert exclamatory remark]!! My cell phone!” Quickly, I emptied the contents of my pockets onto the side the pool.

I took the battery out and enjoyed the rest of me evening. When I got home, I took my phone apart and used a hair dryer to dry out the phone. Before putting it back together, I pressed the battery against the contacats and tried to turn on the phone. The screen lit up and it began to search for the network. I shutdown the phone and put the battery down. After re-assembling the phone I inserted the battery and tried to turn the phone on again. No go. Why not? Don’t know. Because it was now past my bedtime, I decided to take the battery out and leave the phone flipped open over night. I would check it again in the morning.

I’m happy to report that my phone is once again working. Though, I have not received any phone calls.

Oh, and I was able to clean the lint out of the phone when I had it opened. 😉

5 Responses to “CPR: Cell Phone Resuscitation”

  1. galikanokus Says:

    what you do, rub it against mark’s (youth pastor’s) belly ? and…do you actually get him in too?

  2. Dan Says:

    Ok, well it was bound to happen I guess. 🙂 Have you tried making a call yet? Do you think it started vibrating while it was in the pool because you got a call or because it was saying, “AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”?

  3. Mark Says:

    I got a phone call today and I sent a text.

  4. Nancy Says:

    My daughter dropped her cell phone in the toilet! Have tryed drying with hair dryer. Am leaving it opened over night. I hope it drys out and will work!!!!!!! This is too damn funny (wasn’t when she dropped it in the toilet)!!!!!! Have you EVER hear of anyone doing this before? I think it beats you having yours in the pool!!!!!! LOL.

    Nancy

  5. Jen Says:

    Dropped mine in the toilet just now…. Hope to GOD I can get it to dry out – this is my only phone lol

Leave a Reply

