Downtime

Sorry about the webserver downtime. I got an email about it a day or two ago. I didn’t fixed it sooner because I need it broke while I wrote a utility to fix it for me.

I’m writting a shell script (which will be in cron) to detect when the server dies (gives Forbidden errors). It will then restart the Apache server and send me an email. I’ve got the script detecting and restarting fine, but I got stuck when I found out my server doesn’t have email capabilities (I never put it in). So, I’ve spent the last 2 days researching linux mail servers. Unfortunately, I don’t have the time right now to install and configure one.

So… if you see my server down again, give my cron an hour to restart it. If its still down after an hour, shoot me an angry email. And I’ll kick it back on when I get home from work. Deal?

7 Responses to “Downtime”

  1. Dan Says:

    Soda, Soda, …. Ba-Na-Na!

  2. Gliebster Says:

    automagical!

  3. Dan Says:

    Need more posts, need more posts, Need more posts,…. Monk, I need a Monk!

  4. Galikanokus Says:

    It is good to be the king!
    You played 3 hours to die like this?!?!

  5. Dan Says:

    Sir, blame it on your ISP.

  6. Galianokus Says:

    nanana nanana(monk)

  7. Galianokus Says:

    Enemy sighted!
    Don’t point that thing at me!!

Leave a Reply

