Building new server

I’m building myself a new server. Well, I’m using hardware newer than the current server and I’m getting a fresh install. This time around, I’m using Gentoo (building from stage1) instead of my favorite distro, Mandrake.

I expect Gentoo to ‘port’ software sooner than RPMs become available for Mandrake. I’ve installed Gentoo twice before (one stage1 and one stage3) on PCs for use as a desktop. Oh, and I have Gentoox on my xbox.

I’m having fun. I think I can make this sucker rather light weight. I’ll have absolutely no GUI on this machine. No KDE. No Gnome. Not even X. Just SSH, baby. No sound support. But I am adding CD-R support. And of course, I’ll be putting the A M P back in the LAMP.

Change over probably wont be for a few days, at te earliest. Hopefully by next weekend. The machine is still bootstraping (I’ll leave it over night). Then I need to configure and compile my kernel. Install blah blah blah. Copy over my web root and /home directories and mysql databases. Then I’ll test over LAN, switch the port forwarding in the router and test over WAN. Downtime should be minimal, if at all.

I gotta get up in 7 hours. So, g’night!

4 Responses to “Building new server”

  1. Dan Says:

    I predict fully operational within, mmmm, 3 weeks. šŸ™‚ Windowz can be installed in 45 min or less, Mandrake 10 can be installed in 5 or 10 min.

  2. Mark Says:

    Bootstrapping done. Now Stage 2: `emerge system`.

  3. Mark Says:

    Stage 2 finished by the time I got home from church. I’ve started configuing my kernel, but now I’m running out of the house for likely the rest of the day. To be continued…

  4. Mark Says:

    I just finished configuring my kernel and started compiling it. Time for bed.

Leave a Reply

